Dining with Captain Ginger Beard – York St

Welcome to my first review with Captain Ginger Beard!

So, while in the wilds of Albany, I may have been a little naughty and overindulged in alcoholic beverages at a rather charming establishment called the White Star.

Now I’m not actually reviewing the White Star, but something you need to understand is that on the morning of this review I woke up with a massive hangover.

My eyes were dry; my mouth tasted like a sewer and my skin was white and grimy.  The only thing that was going to relieve me of my hideous state was a nice relaxing hot shower. Guess what ? The goddamn gas heater is broken!! So instead of having a nice warm shower I ended up in a rectangle box of cold icy doom.

Me with the only male that will love me when I look that hungover. Scotty boy

Once Captain Ginger Beard saw my shivering depression he very kindly suggested that we go out for breakfast. His shout. In my frozen state I accepted.

Why tell you this? So you understand my mood before going to York Street. I was hungover, cold and still grimy. Even with all the odds against it I still really enjoyed

York Street

http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/348/1588399/restaurant/Western-Australia/York-Street-Cafe-Albany

The place itself is just like its staff.  It’s clean, neat and charming; my soy cappuccino was overflowing but silky and smooth.  CGB (Captain Ginger Beard) also had a flat white. I would like to note he used to drink a latte but I made so much fun of him that he’s actually changed his order. Does anyone else judge people on their coffee order or is this just a horrible quirk I’ve developed?

Watch out I’ll judge you and your coffee!

I ended up having the

Asparagus & poached egg with gluten free toast.

This glorious dish came out with shavings of cheese and crispy pancetta. It was honestly so good it made my soul weep. You know that moment you crave something and then you actually get it. That’s how I felt. The only downside was the gluten free toast; it kind of tasted like a mouse pad.

You have to excuse the lighting…I still have my L plates on…

Captain Ginger Beard had

Breakfast hash

The breakfast hash is a mixture of every fried delicacy you could ever ask for. It had the boy’s combinations of potato, chorizo mushroom and egg. So it was pretty much a fried breakfast done fancy. The captain enjoyed his relish, his bounty and also most of my gluten free toast.

Excuse it for being a little blurry. I was so excited I started shaking….or maybe I was just cold…

Verdict:

Great service, amazing food and some really healthy dishes. If you can make the four hour trek down to Albany, then pretty please make this your breakfast destination!

6 thoughts on “Dining with Captain Ginger Beard – York St

  1. Nice review. This breakky place seems like your favourite so far. Can you find one closer to Perth for when I visit? Pretty please? Also you make mouse pads seem like they taste bad. How many mouse pads have you tasted? maybe you just haven’t found the right one? Maybe a mouse pad speed eating night might help? It’s like speed dating but makes you feel less sick at the end.

Leave a comment